Smartphone: Which one for me?


After much “Googling” trying to decide which smartphone is best suited for my needs and lifestyle, I finally made a decision and ordered my Nokia N8 (silver) from my cellphone service provider (Vodacom, South Africa).

Why the Nokia N8? My previous cellphone was the Nokia N82 with a 5 MP camera and xenon flash. The N82 is ranked in the top 5 phones at GSMArea.com, mainly due to phone’s excellent camera. Over the past two years, I have captured some truly awesome memories with my N82. I therefore wanted an even better cellphone camera, greater than 5 MP resolution, Carl Zeis lens and a xenon flash (no LED flash for me!). The Nokia N8 was an obvious choice with a 12 MP camera, Carl Zeis lens and a xenon flash. A decent phone camera is very important, especially if you have kids. My daughter features in most of the photographs I take.

Secondly, According to Gartner, Nokia still holds the largest market share with 40.1% in September 2010, followed by Android (17.1%) and iPhone (17.5%). By 2014, Android should dominate the smartphone market. When my cellphone is due for an upgrade in two years time, I will seriously consider an Android smartphone.

Thirdly, I am quite familiar with the Symbian operating system (OS) as I owned a Nokia N70 before the N82. Hence, navigating the new N8 would not pose a problem or present a steep learning curve.

Owning a Nokia phone gives me access to the OVI Store which attracts 3.5 million downloads a day. Operator billing was introduced in South Africa in July 2010. This means I can purchase content from the OVI Store and the bill is reflected on my cellphone contract. I receive an SMS to confirm the purchase which starts downloading immediately. This convenience is truly awesome. Purchases by South Africans from OVI Store grew by 438 percent in 3 months because of operator billing.

I also have access to over 7 million MP3 songs from Nokia Music. I can share content (photos and videos) with family and friends with OVI Share. Navigation is no problem with OVI Maps. I can sync my contacts, calendar events and favourite places with OVI .com. I have one Nokia account that allows be access to all these services. Convenient, just the way I like it!

Other smartphones I considered were the iPhone4, Samsung Galaxy S, HTC Desire, HTC Desire HD, HTC Evo 4G, LG Optimus 7, Blackberry Torch 9800, Google Nexus One and the Motorola Droid X. Not all of these smartphones are available in South Africa.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

