Storing passwords and other sensitive information


As I mentioned in a previous post, I’m not your average cellphone user. Another important function of my smartphone is the ability to store (securely) numerous passwords and other sensitive information. Although simple to do, it is not advised to store such information is a plain text (ASCII) file on your smartphone. If your cellphone is lost or stolen one day, your passwords could end up in the wrong hands. This may result in “identity theft” and various other nightmares! Hence, it is important to password protect and encrypt this personal information.

On my N82, I used a Symbian application called SplashID which encrypts personal information. One disadvantage of the N82 is the keypad, which makes typing a rather tedious process. SplashID has a desktop component, allowing me to use my PC to generate and maintain the database of personal information. I then export the database, transfer it to my N82 and import it. I could then access all my personal information stored securely on my phone, both anytime and anywhere.

The procedure to export the PC database and manually “sync” to the N82 was cumbersome. I wanted a seamless solution and after “Googling” this dilemma, I chose SPB Wallet for my needs. SPB’s website best describes their application as follows: “SPB Wallet is a secure and manageable storage of sensitive information, such as passport and account numbers, access and PIN codes, logins and passwords. The encrypted and password-protected data can be accessed from Windows PCs, and synchronized with mobile devices”.

An added feature of SPB Wallet is the ability to import a SplashID database. Hence, to transfer my personal information from SplashID to SPB Wallet was completely hassle-free and fast.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

